Located at the Heritage zone of George Town, the Kapitan Keling Mosque is one of the oldest and famous landmarks in the island.
The mosque was built by the the head of the Indian Muslim community in Penang during the year 1800, and is located at along Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling (formerly Pitt Street but was later renamed after the mosque). The historic mosque was also used previously as the state mosque of Penang. The name “kapitan keling” is used to denote the headman or leader of the South Indian Muslim community.
Further info on the mosque here: http://www.visitpenang.gov.my/portal3/what-to-see/attractions/kapitan-keling-mosque.html
Balik Pulau (literally meaning ‘back of the island’ in Malay) is a town in Penang, Malaysia. It is also one of the thirteen parliamentary constituencies in Penang, stretching about half of Penang Island, from Batu Feringhi at its north to Teluk Kumbar at its south.
Balik Pulau main town roundabout.
The Yeoh Kongsi clan association originates from the period of 1836 to 1840, is a clan association of Hokkien emigrants in Penang bearing the Yeoh surname who came from mainland China. Yeoh Kongsi is one of the five major Hokkien clan associations in Penang and the association’s building is located at the intersection of Chulia Street Ghaut and Victoria Street, George Town.
A scenic view of the east coast of the island with the Penang bridge at the far horizon.
Odeon is one of Penang’s oldest cinemas and the only one that is still remaining presently as a movie theater.
The Penang Supreme Court complex at Farquhar Street, Georgetown was built in 1903 during the British colonial years and has been hearing cases ever since. The court complex incorporated neo-Palladin style architecture and is currently houses the Penang High Court. The design of the complex was done by the Public Works Department, which was headed by John Henry McCallum, the Surveyor-General of the Straits Settlements at that time. The Penang Supreme complex was also expanded with a 3-storey wing. The Logan Memorial is located right in front of the court’s main entrance.