Chulia Street Ghaut (or Gat Lebuh Chulia) is an extension area of Chulia Street after a land reclamation was conducted during the late 1800s.
A wall art mural depicting two children playing basketball located just at the back of the old Kwong Wah Yit Poh building. The building is located along Chulia Street Ghaut and this mural was also done by local artist Louis Gan, the same local artist who painted the other mural across the street, Children on the Swing / Step by Step Lane.
For the art’s location, please click HERE for the map.
The KOMTAR tower looms over the George Town pre-war houses.
St Xavier’s Institution (or SXI) is a boys’ school within the heritage zone of George Town (Farquhar Street) and was established in 1852. It is one of the oldest surviving English schools in Penang.
It was named after Saint Francis Xavier, the pioneering Christian missionary and co-founder of the Society of Jesus (Jesuit Order). The present building was built and completed in 1952 in order to replace the original one after it was bombed during the World War II. This year also marks the 160th year for the historical rich school.
Painted by Ernest Zacharevic at the old walls along Ah Quee Street.