The Han Jiang Teochew Temple is a Chinese temple located along Lebuh Chulia in George Town and right at the cross junction of Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling. It is the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association. Completed in 1870, the Hanjiang Ancestral Temple is the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association which was formed in 1855 by six Teochew migrants.
The temple has suffered from long years of wear and tear as well as neglect over the year until a special committee was then formed in 2002 to conduct a restoration project of the temple which was later completed in 2005. The temple is carefully restored in its unique old Chinese architecture and to reflect its history properly.
The Cheah Kongsi is one of the oldest and intriguing clan temple to be established in Penang in the year 1873.
Situated right at heart of Georgetown (Armenian Street), the Cheah Kongsi possessed a intricate and unique architecture as well as design which reflects buildings of ancient Chinese. The Cheah clan in Penang is the oldest of the five major Hokkien clan associations in Penang. Historically Cheah Kongsi was founded by Cheah Yam, a clan member who came from a village called Sek Tong in the Hokkien province of China.
Click here for the Location Map and the official website of the Cheah Kongsi is http://cheahkongsi.com.my/.
A Brief Info
One of the oldest Chinese temples in Penang, the Kuan Yin temple at Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling (previously known as Pitts Street), was built in the 1800s dedicated to The Goddess of Mercy or Kuan Yin. The Kuan Yin Temple is not only popular with the local devotees of the goddess, but also with tourists from many countries. The temple is decorated with carvings of dragon on pillars and its roof as well as many mythical creatures of Chinese beliefs.
A fishing village at Batu Maung, Penang. The temple to the legendary Admiral Cheng Ho is also located at the shore, overlooking the village. Admiral Cheng Ho is commonly known as Sam Poh Kong by the locals here, and worshipped as a deity by fishermen.
A Brief Intro
The Kek Lok Si Temple is a Buddhist temple situated in Air Itam in Penang and is one of the best known temples on the island. It is the largest Buddhist temple in Southeast Asia. In 1930, the seven storey main pagoda of the temple or the Pagoda of 10,000 Buddhas, was completed. This pagoda combines a Chinese octagonal base with a middle tier of Thai design, and a Burmese crown; reflecting the temple’s embrace of both Mahayana and Theravada Buddhism.
In 2002, a 30.2m bronze statue of the Kuan Yin was completed and opened to public. It replaced the previous white plaster Kuan Yin statue which was damaged due to a fire a few years earlier. The bronze statue is located on the hillside above the pagoda while the head of the previous statue which survived the fire is preserved and placed on the right hand corner of the new statue.
(Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kek_Lok_Si )