The Church of the Assumption is located at Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang and it is nearby St George’s Cathedral. The Church of the Assumption was founded in 1786, when Captain Francis Light first came to Penang. It remained as the seat of the bishop of Penang from 1955-2003 and it is also a World Heritage Church.
In 1786, Captain Francis Light landed on Penang Island and named it Prince of Wales Island. He set up the Fort Cornwallis. In conjunction with their landing in Penang which coincides with the feast of the Assumption of The Blessed Mary on 15 August that year, he and his companions built a church and named it Church of the Assumption. It was the first Roman Catholic church in the northern region of Malaysia, as well as the first church built after the British landed in Penang. They went on to control Malaya later on.
The Beach Street of Georgetown, Penang is a busy street during the weekdays as it is also known as Penang’s banking or financial district. Rows of historical and heritage buildings converted into banks and financial institutions lined up the street. Most of these heritage buildings retain their old appearance and architecture despite being used as modern financial centers by their owners. The street begins from the roundabout near Persiaran King Edward right up to Chulia Street.
A Brief Info
One of the oldest Chinese temples in Penang, the Kuan Yin temple at Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling (previously known as Pitts Street), was built in the 1800s dedicated to The Goddess of Mercy or Kuan Yin. The Kuan Yin Temple is not only popular with the local devotees of the goddess, but also with tourists from many countries. The temple is decorated with carvings of dragon on pillars and its roof as well as many mythical creatures of Chinese beliefs.
A Brief Intro
The Acheen Street Mosque located in Georgetown (Masjid Melayu Lebuh Acheh) was founded by Tengku Syed Hussain Al-Aidid in 1808. The mosque is surrounded by rows of heritage shophouses, as well as a a cemetery including the mausoleum of Syed Hussain and his family, mid-19th Century town houses and an octagonal minaret. Veing one of the oldest in Penang, the mosque complex depicts an early Muslim urban community in Penang comprising of the Malays, Indian Muslims, Arabs and the Achehnese.
A Brief Intro
The Logan Memorial is a monument constructed by the public of the Straits Settlement in memory of James Richardson Logan. James Logan was a champion of the rights of the non-Europeans in Penang during a time where racial discrimination was abundant. As a law practitioner, he often represented the locals against corporations such as the East India Company. His death in 1869 dealt a great loss to the public and hence, this memorial was built in honor of him. The Logan Road in Penang was also named after James Logan.
A Brief Intro
Situated opposite just across the road from the Dhammikarama Burmese Temple lies the Thai Reclining Buddha (or Sleeping Buddha) Temple. The world’s third longest reclining Buddha is built within the temple. Outside the temple walls, statues of mythical beings can be found just like the Burmese temple.
Google Map Link: Click Here
A Brief Intro
The Mengkuang Dam is the biggest dam in Penang with a storage capacity of about 23,639 million litres of water. Besides the obvious of providing water to the people, the dam serves as a recreational park with benches decorating along the waters as well as roads for joggers. The area provides an excellent view of waterscape and the surrounding hills. The dam is located at the mainland side of Penang, north-east of Butterworth town.
Update (as of 5 August 2011): The Mengkuang Dam in Penang will be closed only from Feb 1, 2014 to July 31, 2016 to facilitate construction of a new dam.
A fishing village at Batu Maung, Penang. The temple to the legendary Admiral Cheng Ho is also located at the shore, overlooking the village. Admiral Cheng Ho is commonly known as Sam Poh Kong by the locals here, and worshipped as a deity by fishermen.
The ‘Tua Pek Kong” grand float procession was held by the management of Poh Hock Seah in 2010, the last of such event was held back in 1998. The procession was held once every 12 years (during the Tiger year of the Chinese zodiac).
Tua Pek Kong is one of the pantheon of Malaysian Chinese Gods. It was believed that Tua Pek Kong arrived in Penang 40 years before Francis Light’s arrival.
Gurney Drive is a popular seafront promenade in Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. The road is also one Penang’s most popular tourist destinations, famous for the “hawker food” sold from food stalls formerly located along the seafront, now relocated close by. Previously known as the New Coast Road, it was completed in 1936 along what was then known as the North Beach, and renamed in 1952 after Sir Henry Gurney, British High Commissioner in Malaya (1950-1951).
Over the years, the beaches along Gurney Drive have largely been lost to coastal erosion. More recently, a land reclamation project at nearby Tanjung Tokong has reversed the erosion, leading to the accretion of silt and mud off Gurney Drive. Mangrove saplings have sprouted in the mud, which is now frequented by egrets and other birds as well as mudskippers.