The ‘Tua Pek Kong” grand float procession was held by the management of Poh Hock Seah in 2010, the last of such event was held back in 1998. The procession was held once every 12 years (during the Tiger year of the Chinese zodiac).
Tua Pek Kong is one of the pantheon of Malaysian Chinese Gods. It was believed that Tua Pek Kong arrived in Penang 40 years before Francis Light’s arrival.
Gurney Drive is a popular seafront promenade in Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. The road is also one Penang’s most popular tourist destinations, famous for the “hawker food” sold from food stalls formerly located along the seafront, now relocated close by. Previously known as the New Coast Road, it was completed in 1936 along what was then known as the North Beach, and renamed in 1952 after Sir Henry Gurney, British High Commissioner in Malaya (1950-1951).
Over the years, the beaches along Gurney Drive have largely been lost to coastal erosion. More recently, a land reclamation project at nearby Tanjung Tokong has reversed the erosion, leading to the accretion of silt and mud off Gurney Drive. Mangrove saplings have sprouted in the mud, which is now frequented by egrets and other birds as well as mudskippers.
Penang Bukit Dumbar is a recreational park over a man-made hill located in Jelutong area of the island. It serves as a popular place for the locals to exercise, jogging or to stroll during the mornings and evenings. A public badminton court center is also located within the park for those interested to rent a court for playing.
The Penang Botanic Gardens, also known as the “Waterfall Gardens” because of the cascading waterfall nearby, is a public park situated on Jalan Air Terjun (Waterfall Road) in George Town on Penang Island, Malaysia. The original gardens were established in 1884 from an old quarry site, under the supervision of Charles Curtis, who was the first superintendent.
The Ayer Itam Dam is the first dam to be built in Penang and was offically opened in 1962 by the (then) Governor of Penang, TYT Y.M.Raja Tun Uda Al-Haj bin Raja Muhammad. Besides being one of the water sources of the island, the dam is also a popular recreation area with the locals.
Completed a few years ago, this new seaside walkway that stretches along the coastline of Jelutong Expressway, is also dubbed the ‘New Gurney’ by the locals here. This walkway is a popular place for joggers as well as fishing hobbyists. At the center of the walkway lies the 4-blue-pylons sculpture made by renowned artist NAKAYAMA Hitori.
The promenade is now renamed as Karpal Singh Drive in honor of Karpal Singh, a prominent politician hailing from Penang who passed away in an accident in 2014.
This Beach Street fire station was opened for operations in 1909, one of the only two fire stations on the island at that time. Before this, the policemen were the only paid force on call to put out fires. It is also considered as a landmark in the area with its four-storey tower which was designed and built with both western and mughal influences.
The Standard Chartered Bank of Penang is an old building dated back during the British Colonization with British Palladian architecture. The bank is located at Beach Street, Georgetown, the island’s ‘financial district’.
The Palladian architecture is a European style of architecture derived from the designs of the Venetian architect Andrea Palladio. The design was briefly popular in Britain during the 17th to 18th century.
The CHEW Jetty is a settlement of wooden houses built on stilts and the name “CHEW” is the surname (the first name) of the residences and that’s where the name was derived. Migrant’s families with this surname would live together in this area. The CHEW jetty is now one of the popular tourist attractions on the island. Wooden platforms connect the houses supported by stilts on the waters. Visitors can even go for a homestay at the village for an unique experience.
The Kek Lok Si Temple is a Buddhist temple situated in Air Itam in Penang and is one of the best known temples on the island. It is the largest Buddhist temple in Southeast Asia. In 1930, the seven storey main pagoda of the temple or the Pagoda of 10,000 Buddhas, was completed. This pagoda combines a Chinese octagonal base with a middle tier of Thai design, and a Burmese crown; reflecting the temple’s embrace of both Mahayana and Theravada Buddhism.
In 2002, a 30.2m bronze statue of the Kuan Yin was completed and opened to public. It replaced the previous white plaster Kuan Yin statue which was damaged due to a fire a few years earlier. The bronze statue is located on the hillside above the pagoda while the head of the previous statue which survived the fire is preserved and placed on the right hand corner of the new statue.