The Ng Kongsi is a Cantonese clan association that is located at King Street, George Town. Its building has a unique Chinese architecture that features a jagged or zig-zag shaped roofline. The shape is designed such to display an element of fire, according to local belief.
The various minor Chinese clan houses and associations in King Street, George Town.
Chin Si Thoong Soo which was built in 1914 and incorporating Cantonese Straits Eclectic style, is a Chin clan association building.
Chong San Wooi Koon is a Cantonese district association that represents the Cantonese clansmen from Guangdong Province in southern China.
Kar Yin Fee Kuan (Kar Yin Association) is a Hakka district association founded in early 1800s that represents the clansmen from the Kar Yin District of Guangdong Province in southern China.
Tseng Lung Fui Kon is another Hakka district association for Hakka people from the Tseng Lung district of Guangdong Province in southern China and is located next to Kar Yin Association.
Koo Saing Wooi Koon is a combined clan temple for people of the surname Lau, Kuan, Teoh and Teo.
Lee Sih Chong Soo (or also known as Lee Kongsi), is the clan association for the Chinese surnamed Lee.
The Ng Kongsi is a clan association for the Cantonese people surnamed Ng.
Poe Choo Seah is an association for Straits-born Chinese, the Baba Nyonyas which was built in early 1900s incorporating the Straits Eclectic style.
The Moey She Temple in Penang Street (or Lebuh Penang), George Town, is a temple for the Moey clan of the Chinese community in Penang. This old and heritage temple was built in early 1900s with Chinese Cantonese-style architectural design.
Serving as both the guildhouse for Chinese carpenters and the temple of the ‘North Duke’, this building was found to be built in the year 1865 and is located along Love Lane, George Town. The Guild of Carpenters was founded back then by the local Chinese Cantonese craftsmen who also worshipped ‘Lo Pan’ (or literally ‘North Duke’), the patron saint of the Cantonese tradesmen.
Penang Ta Kam Hong (or translated as Penang Goldsmith Association) is the oldest Chinese goldsmith association in Malaysia which was founded in the 1800s at Muntri Street, George Town. Most of its goldsmith members are of Cantonese descent and they generally worship Wu Ching, the patron deity of goldsmiths within the association’s guild temple.
The large art mural of the ‘Girl in Blue’ drawn by Ernest Zacharevic can be found on the side wall of a neighboring house of the association.
The Cantonese Tua Pek Kong Temple located along King Street of George Town’s Heritage Zone is an old Taoist temple was built by the local Chinese communities during 18th century. Tua Pek Kong, literally “Grand Uncle”, is worshiped as the god of prosperity by the Chinese.
The Nam Hooi Association (or Nam Hooi Wooi Koon) is a Chinese Cantonese district association with its building located along Chulia Street, George Town.