Serving as both the guildhouse for Chinese carpenters and the temple of the ‘North Duke’, this building was found to be built in the year 1865 and is located along Love Lane, George Town. The Guild of Carpenters was founded back then by the local Chinese Cantonese craftsmen who also worshipped ‘Lo Pan’ (or literally ‘North Duke’), the patron saint of the Cantonese tradesmen.
Penang Ta Kam Hong (or translated as Penang Goldsmith Association) is the oldest Chinese goldsmith association in Malaysia which was founded in the 1800s at Muntri Street, George Town. Most of its goldsmith members are of Cantonese descent and they generally worship Wu Ching, the patron deity of goldsmiths within the association’s guild temple.
The large art mural of the ‘Girl in Blue’ drawn by Ernest Zacharevic can be found on the side wall of a neighboring house of the association.