A walk along Armenian Street on a sunny day. Pre-war straits eclectic townhouses can be seen along the old and historical street in the heart of George Town’s heritage zone.
The Penang Islamic Museum heritage mansion located along Armenian Street in George Town. The museum is dedicated for preserving the history of Islamic culture and heritage in Penang and Malaysia.
Despite its signboard with the name, this old historical house located at Hutton Lane actually used to belong to the former Penang Chief Minister, Tun Dr. Lim Chong Eu. The house was passed down to Lim Chong Eu from his father, Dr Lim Chwee Leong. It was said that at one point the house was leased to a carpenter friend named Leong Kim Tiew who then created the signboard.
Prangin Road originated from the old Prangin Canal in the old days was a popular water route in George Town for transportation of local goods to and from the ‘Sia Boey’ marketplace which located at the old canal area. Part of the old canal can still be seen in the picture above (the abandoned greenery area).
Located along Victoria Street and built in 1878, Boon San Tong Khoo Kongsi is an ancestral clan temple for the Khoo clan people in Penang. It is one of the two Khoo clan temples in Penang and also the smaller and less popular one compared to the main Khoo Kongsi at Cannon Street, George Town.
The old historical Queen Victoria Clock Tower on a raining day.