Magazine Road, George Town.
Opened this year from a renovated pre-war shophouse located along Muntri Street, the Camera Museum showcases various retro or vintage cameras besides having a photography exhibition gallery. The cameras on display are of various shapes and designs with some vintage cameras up for sale at its gift shop. There’s also s small cafe inside the museum. The museum opens daily from 9am to 8pm and its Facebook site is https://www.facebook.com/PenangCameraMuseum. There is a RM20 entrance fee for adults, RM10 for students and senior citizens to access the cameras display hall.
Camera Museum Wall Art Murals
Sometime back in early July this year, there was a special photo exhibition along Cheong Fatt Tze Street which was featured as part of the events of Georgetown Festival 2013. This unique exhibition by freelance photographer Cheryl J Hoffmann touches on the Nine Emperor Gods festival which was widely celebrated by the locals. Below are some of her beautiful shots on display;
Do visit the photographer’s page; http://cheryljhoffmann.com/ for more amazing photos.
The Esplanade area is a popular tourist location at George Town as it houses the Fort Cornwallis, the City Halls as well as an old lighthouse which overlooks the Penang Harbour. The large Esplanade field is also the venue of major festivals held at the island (such as New Year celebration, cultural show, and the Bon Odori festival). The seafront of the Esplanade is a popular place to fish day or night while during the night, there is a foodcourt nearby selling local delicacies.
Location at Google Map.
The Dhammikarama Burmese Temple is a buddhist temple located at the heart of George Town with its presence that lasted on the Penang island for more than 200 years since its foundation back in 1803. Often regarded as the earliest Burmese Buddhist temple in Malaysia, the temple is located directly opposite of the Wat Chaiyamangalaram Thai Buddhist temple.
The temple complex is consisted of a main shrine hall, the Sime Hall which houses a giant standing Buddha statue, a pagoda, a 200 years old well built during the early settlement of monks. The roof of the Sime Hall is also clad in golden paint with unique Burmese architecture. Statues of mythical creatures as well as deities can also be found scattered around the temple complex’s courtyard and garden.
Location: Google Map
Suffolk House refers to two early residences built on the same site located some four miles west of George Town, Penang, on the banks of the Air Itam River (Black Water River). The earliest of the two buildings is notable for serving as the residence of Francis Light, the founder of the British settlement on the Prince of Wales Island, commonly known as Penang Island. Following Light’s death in 1794, and with Penang becoming the fourth presidency of India in 1805, a newer Suffolk House replaced the original house, assuming multiple roles and was later neglected before its current restoration.
The mansion and the estate it was built on, the Suffolk Estate, is presumably named after Suffolk county in England. Light was born in Dallinghoo, Suffolk in East Anglia.
As the the resting place of Penang’s European pioneers, the Christian Cemetery at Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah road in George Town is the oldest of such cemetery in the island. The cemetery (also referred to as Protestant Cemetery) is the resting place of Captain Francis Light (the Founder of Penang), the early British governors of Penang, the husband of Anna Leonowens (“Anna & The King”), and also the founder of Penang Free School. The cemetery is mostly shaded by trees with tombs as well as gravestones inhabiting the area since 1789.