St Xavier’s Institution (or SXI) is a boys’ school within the heritage zone of George Town (Farquhar Street) and was established in 1852. It is one of the oldest surviving English schools in Penang.
It was named after Saint Francis Xavier, the pioneering Christian missionary and co-founder of the Society of Jesus (Jesuit Order). The present building was built and completed in 1952 in order to replace the original one after it was bombed during the World War II. This year also marks the 160th year for the historical rich school.