Macalister Lane, George Town.
The colonial era Church of the Holy Name of Jesus at Balik Pulau.
It was found that the old agricultural town of Balik Pulau was established in the 1790s by the British East India Company. Located at the southwest of Penang Island, Balik Pulau is a Malay name which refers to ‘the back of the island’ in Malay. The town was so named due to its location situated at the western side of the Penang Island, separated from George Town by the island’s central hills. The British East India Company at that time established the first clove and nutmeg plantations in the area, hoping to turn Penang island as the center for spice production in Southeast Asia and competing against the Dutch monopoly of the spice trade during that period.
Nagore Durgha Sheriff (or Nagore Dargha Sheriff) is a small mosque located at the intersection of King Street and Chulia Street. It was built in honor of a Muslim saint in the 1800s and is the oldest Indian Muslim shrine in Penang.
The Han Jiang Teochew Temple (or Hanjiang Ancestral Temple) is a Chinese temple located along Chulia Street (Lebuh Chulia) in George Town and right at the cross junction of Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling. It is the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association. Completed in 1870, it serves as the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association which was formed in 1855 by six Teochew migrants.
Can you spot the street art mural at Muntri Street?