Penang Isle: The Goddess of Mercy’s Garden

Standing high atop the hills above the Kek Lok Si temple complex is the 30.2m bronze statue of the Goddess of Mercy or Kuan Yin. The statue and its surrounding garden was completed and opened to the public in 2002. A 20-storey high pavilion is also built to shelter the goddess’ statue and is a marvelous sight to behold.

And the night view of the statue;

Penang Isle: Kapitan Keling Mosque

Located at the Heritage zone of George Town, the Kapitan Keling Mosque is one of the oldest and famous landmarks in the island.
The mosque was built by the the head of the Indian Muslim community in Penang during the year 1800, and is located at along Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling (formerly Pitt Street but was later renamed after the mosque). The historic mosque was also used previously as the state mosque of Penang. The name “kapitan keling” is used to denote the headman or leader of the South Indian Muslim community.

Further info on the mosque here: http://www.visitpenang.gov.my/portal3/what-to-see/attractions/kapitan-keling-mosque.html

Penang Isle: The Supreme Court Complex

The Penang Supreme Court complex at Farquhar Street, Georgetown was built in 1903 during the British colonial years and has been hearing cases ever since. The court complex incorporated neo-Palladin style architecture and is currently houses the Penang High Court. The design of the complex was done by the Public Works Department, which was headed by John Henry McCallum, the Surveyor-General of the Straits Settlements at that time. The Penang Supreme complex was also expanded with a 3-storey wing. The Logan Memorial is located right in front of the court’s main entrance.

Penang Isle: The Teluk Bahang Dam

Located almost towards the end of the north western coast of Penang island, the Teluk Bahang Dam is the largest dam on Penang Island which was built to provide an alternative source of water supply to the people of the island. Walking along the dam’s crest, one can enjoy a scenic view of the northern coast of Penang Island. The dam ican be seen right after the Butterfly Farm. The dam is usually used as the venue for the annual dragon-boat race.

Penang Isle: Ong Kongsi Clan Temple

Located along one of the main roads at the heart of George Town, the Chinese clan temple Thye Guan Tong Ong Kongsi is the clan association of the Min Hokkien bearing the Ong surname. The original ancestral temple of the clan was built in 1891 by the sea in Jelutong. The current clan temple, the Seh Ong Kongsi, is located at 436 Penang Road which is just right opposite of the busy KOMTAR complex and tower.