The official name of the “Kongsi” is Har Yang Sit Teik Tong Yeoh Kongsi, and it is is a Hokkien clan association for the Yeoh surnamed descendants.
A recent art mural painted at an alley behind an old printing warehouse at Chulia Street Ghaut in George Town. This art work is created in collaboration by St. Xavier’s Institution, Homesoy and Vilmedia and depicts an old lady at a soy milk stall serving bowls of soy milk to children. This art work can be found just beside Children on the Swing mural.
Steel rod caricature sculpture installed at the walls of Yeoh Kongsi, the Yeoh clan association/temple at Chulia Stret Ghaut in George Town.
Chulia Street Ghaut (or Gat Lebuh Chulia) is an extension area of Chulia Street after a land reclamation was conducted during the late 1800s.
This newly painted wall mural was reportedly done by a local artist named Louis Gan. This wall mural depicts most likely a brother and a sister having fun on the swing. The road sign “Step by Step Lane” is also installed as part of the art work and is not an actual road sign. This art work can be found at Chulia Street Ghaut (at a back alley of a printing warehouse).
For the art’s location, please click HERE for the map.
The Yeoh Kongsi clan association originates from the period of 1836 to 1840, is a clan association of Hokkien emigrants in Penang bearing the Yeoh surname who came from mainland China. Yeoh Kongsi is one of the five major Hokkien clan associations in Penang and the association’s building is located at the intersection of Chulia Street Ghaut and Victoria Street, George Town.