The Quarry Recreational Park is a recent extension to the Botanic Gardens of Penang. In addition to provide a venue for recreational activities, the park also often serves as a venue to various events organised by the state such as hosting the World Music Festival. Besides that, during the weekends, music performance (usually by school bands or music groups) are also held at the park in the evening.
Located within Fort Cornwallis, this historical lighthouse is one of the oldest lighthouses in Malaysia. Built in 1882 during the British administration, it was known as the Fort Point Lighthouse. The lighthouse twas made of steel framework, which is a stark contrast with the rest of the fort. During the renovation in 1914 it was renamed as Penang Harbour Lighthouse. The 21 meters high minaret is made from white iron frame with depth filed covering of 16 nautical miles deep.
As the sixth tallest building in Malaysia, the Komtar Tower located at the heart of George Town, is the most recognizable landmark of Penang. The building of the tower and its complex started in 1974 which was officiated by the late Tun Abdul Razak, the second Prime Minister of Malaysia. The word KOMTAR is also a portmanteau of Kompleks Tun Abdul Razak. Completed in 1988, the 65-storey tower is a 232 m (761 ft) 12-sided geometric block atop a 4-storey podium. The complex comprises office and retail commercial space as well as public and recreational facilities.
Located at Queen Street, the Arulmigu Sri Mahamariamman Temple is the oldest Hindu temple in Penang wich was built in 1833. The temple is also referred as Mariamman Temple or Queen Street Indian Temple. Since 1833, the temple has stood at the same location for more than 200 years. Like other Hindu temples, fascinating sculptures of gods and goddesses can be found over its main entrance and facade. Built in the south Indian Dravidian style, the temple has an impressive gopuram (tower). Rising above the entrance, it features Hindu deities, soldiers and floral decorations.
For more info, check out on Wikipedia
The Han Jiang Teochew Temple is a Chinese temple located along Lebuh Chulia in George Town and right at the cross junction of Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling. It is the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association. Completed in 1870, the Hanjiang Ancestral Temple is the community temple of the Penang Teochew Association which was formed in 1855 by six Teochew migrants.
The temple has suffered from long years of wear and tear as well as neglect over the year until a special committee was then formed in 2002 to conduct a restoration project of the temple which was later completed in 2005. The temple is carefully restored in its unique old Chinese architecture and to reflect its history properly.
The famous St. Anne Church is located at a 20-acres land in Bukit Mertajam, Penang. The Roman Catholic church was founded in 1846 and its first chapel was built on top of the hill. The church expanded as years passed with an increase of Catholic populations in the state, with major developments during the 1990s to 2000s.
In 2002, another new church was built which is one of the largest churches in Malaysia. The church was built incorporating Minangkabau element such as its roofs. An avenue named Dataran St. Anne was also constructed in front of the church. Various facilities were also built such as dormitories for visiting pilgrims, parish office, parish community centre and presbytery. In 2006, the church installed the ‘Statues of Passion’ at a cost of RM600,000 depicting the stations of the cross.
The real feast day of St Anne is on 26 July, but it is usually celebrated for ten days at Bukit Mertajam, either on the real day or immediately after the real day. The celebrations include a candlelight procession, a nine-day novena and adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. During these days, pilgrims from all over the country, including neighboring countries, will be travelling here.
Location: Google Map